Design a site like this with
Get started

The Inaugural MNFCA Awards

The following are the results of the first ever Minnesota Film Critics Alliance Awards.

The Alliance is a 17-member group and for this year’s awards, 14 participated in nominating and voting on the best of 2020. Because of the coronavirus pandemic, films released into March were eligible, allowing some titles watched in 2021 to be included.

Below are the nominees, runners-up and winners.


  • “Da 5 Bloods.” Producers Spike Lee, Jon Kilik, Lloyd Levin and Beatriz Levin.
  • “The Invisible Man.” Producers Jason Blum and Kylie Du Fresne.
  • “Judas and the Black Messiah.” Producers Charles King, Ryan Coogler and Shaka King.
  • “Minari.” Producers Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner and Christina Oh.
  • “Nomadland.” Producers Frances McDormand, Peter Spears, Dan Janvey, Chloé Zhao and Mollye Asher.
  • “Promising Young Woman.” Producers Ben Browning, Emerald Fennell, Margot Robbie, Josey McNamara, Tom Ackerley and Ashley Fox.
  • “Sound of Metal.” Producers Bert Hamelinck, Kathy Benz, Bill Benz and Sacha Ben Harroche.

WINNER: “Nomadland.”
RUNNER-UP: “Promising Young Woman.”


  • Lee Isaac Chung, “Minari”
  • Emerald Fennell, “Promising Young Woman.”
  • Shaka King, “Judas and the Black Messiah.”
  • Spike Lee, “Da 5 Bloods.”
  • Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland.”

WINNER: Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland.”
RUNNERS-UP: Emerald Fennell for “Promising Young Woman” and Spike Lee for “Da 5 Bloods.”


  • Riz Ahmed, “Sound of Metal.”
  • Chadwick Boseman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.”
  • Anthony Hopkins, “The Father.”
  • Delroy Lindo, “Da 5 Bloods.”
  • Lakieth Stanfield, “Judas and the Black Messiah.”
  • Steven Yuen, “Minari.”

WINNER: TIE between Delroy Lindo, “Da Five Bloods” and Chadwick Boseman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.”
RUNNERS-UP: Riz Ahmed for “Sound of Metal,” Lakieth Stanfield for “Judas and the Black Messiah,” Steven Yuen for “Minari” and Anthony Hopkins for “The Father.”


  • Viola Davis, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.”
  • Sidney Flanigan, “Never Rarely Sometimes Always.”
  • Vanessa Kirby, “Pieces of a Woman.”
  • Frances McDormand, “Nomadland.”
  • Elisabeth Moss, “The Invisible Man.”
  • Carey Mulligan, “Promising Young Woman.”

WINNER: Carey Mulligan, “Promising Young Woman.”
RUNNER-UP: Elisabeth Moss, “The Invisible Man.”


  • Chadwick Boseman, “Da 5 Bloods.”
  • Bo Burnham, “Promising Young Woman.”
  • Daniel Kaluuya, “Judas and the Black Messiah.”
  • Alan Kim, “Minari.”
  • Leslie Odom Jr., “One Night in Miami.”
  • Paul Raci, “Sound of Metal.”

WINNER: Daniel Kaluuya, “Judas and the Black Messiah.”
RUNNER-UP: Paul Raci, “Sound of Metal.”


  • Maria Bakalova, “Borat Subsequent Movie Film.”
  • Olivia Colman, “The Father.”
  • Dominique Fishback, “Judas and the Black Messiah.”
  • Youn Yuh-Jung, “Minari.”
  • Amanda Seyfried, “Mank.”

WINNER: Yuh-Jung Youn, “Minari.”
RUNNER-UP: Maria Bakalova, “Borat Subsequent Movie Film.”


  • Danny Bilson, Paul De Meo, Kevin Willmott and Spike Lee. “Da 5 Bloods.”
  • Lee Isaac Chung, “Minari.”
  • Emerald Fennell, “Promising Young Woman.”
  • Charlie Kaufman, “I’m Thinking of Ending Things.”
  • Aaron Sorkin, “The Trial of the Chicago 7.”
  • Leigh Whannell, “The Invisible Man.”
  • Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland”

WINNER: Emerald Fennell, “Promising Young Woman.”
RUNNERS-UP: Leigh Whannell for “The Invisible Man,” Chloé Zhao for “Nomadland” and Aaron Sorkin for “The Trial of the Chicago 7.”


  • K.K. Barrett, “Birds of Prey.”
  • Donald Graham Burt, “Mank.”
  • David Crank, “News of the World.”
  • Molly Hughes, “I’m Thinking of Ending Things.”
  • Peter Francis, “The Father.”
  • Mark Ricker, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.”
  • Kave Quinn, “Emma.”

WINNER: K.K. Barrett, “Birds of Prey.”
RUNNER-UP: Donald Graham Burt, “Mank.”


  • Alan Baumgarten, “The Trial of the Chicago 7.”
  • Robert Franzen, “I’m Thinking of Ending Things.”
  • Adam Gough, “Da 5 Bloods.”
  • Mikkel E.G. Nielsen, “Sound of Metal.”
  • Kristan Sprague, “Judas and the Black Messiah.”
  • Frédéric Thoraval, “Promising Young Woman.”
  • Harry Yoon, “Minari.”

WINNER: Mikkel E.G. Nielsen, “Sound of Metal.”
RUNNER-UP: Robert Franzen, “I’m Thinking of Ending Things.”


  • Sean Bobbitt, “Judas and the Black Messiah.”
  • Stefan Duscio, “The Invisible Man.”
  • Lachlan Milne, “Minari.”
  • Joshua James Richards, “Nomadland.”
  • Newton Thomas Sigel, “Da 5 Bloods.”

WINNER: Joshua James Richards, “Nomadland.”
RUNNER-UP: Stefan Duscio, “The Invisible Man.”


  • “A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon.” Producer Paul Kewley.
  • “Onward.” Producer Kori Rae.
  • “Over the Moon.” Producers Peilin Chou and Gennie Rim.
  • “Soul.” Producer Dana Murray.
  • “Wolfwalkers.” Producers Tomm Moore, Nora Twomey, Paul Young and Stephan Roelants.

WINNER: “Wolfwalkers.”
RUNNER-UP: “Soul.”


  • Terence Blanchard, “Da 5 Bloods.”
  • “Judas and the Black Messiah.” Music by Craig Harris and Mark Isham. Featuring the song “Fight for You” by D’Mile and H.E.R., lyrics by H.E.R. and Tiara Thomas.”
  • Emile Mosseri, “Minari.”
  • Trent Reznor, Atticus Russ and John Batiste, “Soul.”
  • Benjamin Wallfisch, “The Invisible Man.”
  • Anthony Willis, “Promising Young Woman.”

WINNER: “Soul.”
RUNNER-UP: “Da 5 Bloods.”


  • “Da 5 Bloods.”
  • “Greyhound.”
  • “I’m Thinking of Ending.”
  • “The Invisible Man.”
  • “Sound of Metal.”

WINNER: “Sound of Metal.”
RUNNER-UP: “The Invisible Man.”


  • “Birds of Prey.”
  • “Greyhound.”
  • “The Invisible Man.”
  • “Mank.”
  • “Mulan.”
  • “Tenet.”
  • “Wonder Woman 1984.”

WINNER: “The Invisible Man.”
RUNNER-UP: “Tenet.”


Author: Matthew Liedke

Journalist and film critic in Minnesota. Graduate of Rainy River College and Minnesota State University in Moorhead. Outside of movies I also enjoy sports, craft beers and the occasional video game.

3 thoughts on “The Inaugural MNFCA Awards”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: