Minnesota Film Critics Alliance Member Profile: Eli Brau

Eli Brau is a student at Minnesota State University, Mankato, and is passionate about the art of film.

He has put that passion into his own website, A Cinephile’s Corner, where he writes reviews, lists and more. Find out more about Brau in his own words below.

How long have you been producing content about movies?

Consistently? About a year, but I’ve been interested in creating film content for the better part of around four years.

Where do you live and/or produce content about movies?

Mankato, Minnesota.

What type of content do you produce about movies?

I’ve hosted and produced podcast episodes in the past, but currently I focus most of my time on my own personal website with written reviews.

What motivated you to create content about movies?

I love curating and recommending art. I started in music, but I soon fell in love with the filmmaking medium. I didn’t go to the movies much as a kid, so when I was able to frequently go, I knew it was where I wanted to focus my attention for the foreseeable future.

What inspired your love of movies?

I think I grew up in the apex of child content, so that probably helped. Animated films were in abundance in the beginning of the 2000s (whether it’s going back and watching early Disney films or Pixar Films, there was so much to watch as a kid) so I think that helped groom a newer generation of cinephiles glued to their TVs early on.

What do you enjoy most about living in Minnesota?

The pride that comes with living here. We prop our own up and support each other. Even in a tense climate like today, “Minnesota nice” is a real thing.

What is your favorite movie theater in Minnesota?

AMC Mankato 6!

What are some of your favorite movies from the past year (2021)?

“Drive My Car,””The Worst Person in the World,””Licorice Pizza,” “Saint Maud” and “The Card Counter.”

What are your favorite movies set in Minnesota?

Obviously “Fargo” and “A Serious Man,” but also “The End of the Tour” – a truly underrated gem that showcases the isolation and inwardness of our state.

Where can people find your work?

Check out the site that I founded, edit, and write at A Cinephile’s Corner.

What are your Social Media accounts?

Twitter, Instagram and LetterBoxd.

Author: Matthew Liedke

Journalist and film critic in Minnesota. Graduate of Rainy River College and Minnesota State University in Moorhead. Outside of movies I also enjoy sports, craft beers and the occasional video game.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started