Minnesota Film Critics Alliance Profile: Barrett Goetz


Barrett Goetz, a dedicated Minnesotan and avid movie enthusiast, is an alumnus of the University of Minnesota. He is a husband and father of two, working as a digital marketer at Target. A passionate cinephile, he enjoys Star Wars and comic books. Residing in South Minneapolis, he is a fan of the Vikings, Timberwolves, and Gophers.

Discover more about Barrett in his own words below; we are excited to welcome him to the Minnesota Film Critics Alliance.


How long have you been producing content about movies?
For The Screen Mash, 2 years (2022 – present). Prior to that I had a blog called The Movie Mash that I wrote reviews for about 7 years (2009 – 2016)

Where do you live and/or produce content about movies?
Minneapolis (South by Lake Harriet)

What type of content do you produce about movies?
Instagram: Reviews (written and video), movie clips, entertainment news and facts, memes, original video edits.
Podcast: bi-weekly podcast with either deep dive topics or breakdowns of news; on Apple and Spotify (The Screen Mash).

What motivated you to create content about movies?
It’s honestly a creative outlet that I legit need to express myself. I’ve loved movies deeply since I was a kid and knew I always wanted to be a part of them in some legitimate capacity. I don’t quite get that at my job so my outlet is The Screen Mash.

What inspired your love of movies?
The magic of the craft and being transported to another world.

What do you enjoy most about living in Minnesota?
The food, the people, the lakes, our sports teams (even though we often suck). I’ve never wanted to live anywhere else. My son will be entering public elementary school in the fall!

What is your favorite movie theater in Minnesota?
AMC Southdale

What are some of your favorite movies from the past year (2023)?
Oppenheimer, The Holdovers, Past Lives, Godzilla Minus One, Poor Things, Guardians 3, Theater Camp

What are your favorite movies set in Minnesota?
The Mighty Ducks, Jingle All the Way, Fargo

What are your Social Media accounts?
@thescreenmash on Instagram


Discover more from The Minnesota Film Critics Alliance

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Author: Joe

More to come!

One thought on “Minnesota Film Critics Alliance Profile: Barrett Goetz”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started