Minnesota Film Critics Alliance Profile: Catherine Krummey


Catherine Krummey, a.k.a. Cat, is an award-winning communicator with more than a decade of professional experience in journalism, marketing, communications and social media.

Veg Out brings together her lifelong love of pop culture (especially movies) with her unique vegan spin on classic comfort food.

She lives in the Twin Cities area with her husband and their cats, Yowzer and Jack-Jack. In addition to cooking, baking and consuming pop culture, she loves traveling, trying new restaurants, enjoying nature and spending time with her family and friends.

Discover more about Cat in her own words below – we are ecstatic to welcome her to the Minnesota Film Critics Alliance.


How long have you been producing content about movies?
I have been producing content about movies since 2000, when I was 14 and had a Geocities website.

Where do you live and/or produce content about movies?
I live in the Twin Cities area.

What type of content do you produce about movies?
I produce blog posts on my website (vegoutrecipes.com) that pair comfort movies with vegan comfort food. I also regularly share reviews and thoughts on films on film through social media, mainly Instagram (@veg_out_recipes) and Letterboxd (moviecat).

What motivated you to create content about movies?
I got into journalism as a teenager because I wanted to be a film critic. While I fulfilled that dream at publications including the Grand Forks Herald, life provided some alternate direction and I walked away from it for a few years. Now, my love of baking and cooking has helped reinvigorate my love of film, and I am excited for what’s to come as I inch back into this space.

What inspired your love of movies?
I grew up watching Siskel and Ebert for new movie knowledge and TCM for classic movie knowledge.

What do you enjoy most about living in Minnesota?
I enjoy being closer to family after stints on the East Coast, in the South and on the West Coast.

What is your favorite movie theater in Minnesota?
I have a fondness for Emagine Willow Creek because I used to be able to walk there from my apartment.

What are some of your favorite movies from the past year (2023)?
We Eatin’ Good, Rye Lane, Past Lives, Barbie & Joy Ride

What are your favorite movies set in Minnesota?
Juno & The Mighty Ducks

What are your Social Media accounts?
@veg_out_recipes on Instagram, TikTok & Threads; moviecat on Letterboxd; @ckrummey on Facebook, Twitter/X, Pinterest & Instagram


Discover more from The Minnesota Film Critics Alliance

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Author: Joe

More to come!

One thought on “Minnesota Film Critics Alliance Profile: Catherine Krummey”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started